DOE News Release
May 2, 2005

Teri Ehresman, 208-526-7785,
(Electronic Photos available upon request)

McFarlane, McCarthy win nuclear leadership posts

Two Idaho National Laboratory managers have been elected to leadership roles with the national American Nuclear Society.

Harold McFarlane, INL deputy associate laboratory director for Nuclear Programs, has been elected vice president/president-elect of the organization. He will serve as vice president beginning in June and will become president of the organization in June 2006. Kathryn McCarthy, INL director of Advanced Nuclear Energy Systems Integration, has been re-elected to the organization's board of directors. The position is for three years.

INL Associate Laboratory Director James Lake, a former ANS president, said, "This is an outstanding achievement for INL to have Harold McFarlane elected to this key leadership position and to have Kathy McCarthy re-elected to the board. This shows the high caliber of nuclear energy expertise this laboratory has and the laboratory's commitment to service to the profession."

McFarlane has been in Idaho since 1972 and held numerous positions with Argonne National Laboratory, where he achieved ANL's highest technical rank before moving into managerial positions. A Fellow of the ANS, he has held all elected and program positions in the Reactor Physics Division and Fuel Cycle and Waste Management Division within the organization.

"I am humbled by the responsibility that my election as vice-president/president-elect of the American Nuclear Society carries with it. The response and encouragement of my colleagues from around the world has been extremely gratifying; now it will be my turn to call on them for the counsel, enthusiasm and plain hard work that it will take to make the next two years a success for the Society," McFarlane said.

McCarthy, who joined ANS in 1979 as a student member, is currently on the at-large board of directors. She received the 2000 ANS Women's Achievement Award, and the 1994 David Rose Award for Excellence in Fusion Engineering. McCarthy has chaired numerous ANS national divisions and the Idaho section of ANS. She has been at the INL since 1991.

"I am pleased with the vote of confidence the ANS members have given me," McCarthy said. "I look forward to playing a key leadership role in this important organization for many years to come."

Winners will be inducted at the ANS annual meeting June 5-9 in San Diego, Calif.



Printer Friendly
Please note that it is the responsibility of the individual making information available on this website to ensure that any applicable reviews/approvals have been obtained from the originating organization.
Copyright © 2011 Idaho National Laboratory