INL News Release
May 10, 2007

News media contact: Jeff Benson, 208-526-3841

INL announces grants for innovation in the classroom

Improving math, science and technology education is crucial to our nation's global competitiveness and future economic prosperity. In support of the goal to provide enhanced educational opportunities to Idaho students, Idaho National Laboratory awarded $70,000 in grants to teachers across the state to foster innovative projects and programs.

The INL Mini Grant program provides teachers up to $2,000 per grant to support public and private elementary, middle school and high school science, mathematics and technology programs. This year, INL awarded 41 grants to Idaho teachers in grades K-12 to fund classroom equipment, materials and professional development. The grants come from Battelle Energy Alliance (BEA) corporate funds. BEA is the managing and operating contractor of INL for the U.S. Department of Energy.

Applications were evaluated by a panel of judges based on specific criteria. Teachers are required to provide information on how learning objectives and curriculum concepts will be enhanced and how the project or program will improve student interest and achievement.

The following is a list of the teachers and schools receiving INL Teacher Mini Grants for 2007:

Arco: Donna McCurdy, Arco Elementary School
Arimo: Marilyn Mikkelson, Marsh Valley High School
Bellevue : Krista Jones, Bellevue Elementary School

Boise: Chris Taylor, Liberty Elementary School
Boise: Richard Whittaker, Collister Elementary School
Boise: Kate Anderson, East Junior High School
Boise: Jaret Stump, East Junior High School
Boise: Linda Stokes, Collister Elementary School
Boise: Jan Kerfoot, Cynthia Mann Elementary School
Boise: Martha Matson, Treasure Valley Math & Science
Boise: John Pederson, Riverstone International

Burley: Carrie Carson, Burley High School
Burley: Adrienne Shilling, Burley High School

Eagle: Jan Ramirez, Galileo Math & Science
Eagle: Joannah Shosuhtarian, Galileo Math & Science
Eagle: Dave Harrison, Galileo Math & Science
Eagle: Julie Chamberlin, Galileo Math & Science
Eagle: Susan Darden, Galileo Math & Science

Hailey: Larry Barnes, Wood River High School
Hailey: Matthew Phillips, Wood River High School

Idaho Falls: Thomas Kohler, Idaho Falls High School
Idaho Falls: Joseph Timchak, Taylorview Junior High School
Idaho Falls: Ben Walters, White Pine Charter
Idaho Falls: Randy Waite, Hillcrest High School
Idaho Falls: Sharon Oliver, Idaho Falls High School

Nampa: Helen Tjemsland, Owhyee Elementary School
Parma: Gary Martin, Parma Middle School
Pinehurst: Janel Fisher, Pinehurst Elementary School
Pocatello: Christenia Coast, Pocatello Community Charter

Rexburg: Travis Phillips, Madison High School
Rexburg: Rylan Ricks, Madison High School
Rigby: Laron Johnson, Rigby Junior High School

Salmon: Tracy Burgess, Salmon High School
Shelley: Vince Wray, Shelley High School
Shelley: Jill Wray, Hobbs Middle School
Shelley: Michael Winston, Hobbs Middle School
Shelley: Sean O'Brady, Sunrise Elementary School

Twin Falls: Connie Petersen, Harrison Elementary School
Twin Falls: Terry Nelson, Magic Valley Christian
Wendell: Lisa Love, Wendell High School
Wendell: Holly Church, Wendell High School

INL is one of the DOE's 10 multiprogram national laboratories. INL performs work in each of the strategic goal areas of DOE: energy, national security, science and environment. Specifically, INL is the nation's leading center for nuclear energy research and development.


Printer Friendly
Please note that it is the responsibility of the individual making information available on this website to ensure that any applicable reviews/approvals have been obtained from the originating organization.
Copyright © 2011 Idaho National Laboratory