DOE News Release
May 12, 2005

Teri Ehresman, 208-526-7785,
Photo available upon request.

INL manager receives professional award

An Idaho National Laboratory manager has been selected as the winner of the 2006 Glenn T. Seaborg Actinide Separations Award.

Terry Todd, manager of the INL's Aqueous Separations and Radiochemistry Department, was presented the award May 12 at the 29th annual Actinide Separations Conference in Nashville, Tenn. The conference is attended by representatives from major Department of Energy laboratories and universities.

The award is presented annually to a U.S. scientist or engineer who has made outstanding and lasting contributions in the development and application of actinide separation processes or methods. He was nominated by a peer and selected by the conference advisory board.

Todd has published 150 technical articles and reports and holds six U.S. and four Russian patents. The award is named after, and was first awarded to Glenn T. Seaborg, who co-discovered nine elements on the periodic table, including plutonium. Seaborg received the Nobel Prize in chemistry in 1951 and has element 106 (Seaborgium) named in his honor.

Todd is active in the INL's Advanced Fuel Cycle Initiative. He has over 25 years experience, primarily on the development of nuclear fuel reprocessing and radioactive waste treatment technologies.

--INL –

Printer Friendly
Please note that it is the responsibility of the individual making information available on this website to ensure that any applicable reviews/approvals have been obtained from the originating organization.
Copyright © 2011 Idaho National Laboratory