INL News Release
March 12, 2014

Sarah Robertson, 208-526-0490,
Misty Benjamin, 208-351-9900,

High school, middle school teams to compete in Eastern Idaho Science Bowl

IDAHO FALLS – Local high school and middle school students are testing their math and science knowledge this week at the Eastern Idaho Science Bowl sponsored by Idaho National Laboratory. While this is the 24th year INL has sponsored a quiz bowl tournament in which teams of students buzz in to answer questions, it is the first year that middle school students will be included.

Teams will compete in three divisions at the Jeopardy-style tournament held Friday, March 14, for high school students and Saturday, March 15, for middle school students. The tournament will take place at the Center for Higher Education (CHE) building at the University Place campus in Idaho Falls.

In the high school competition, teams in three divisions based on school enrollment will compete in a round-robin tournament. The schedule for Friday is as follows: The Class A and B (large and medium schools) will begin competing at 9 a.m., while the Class C (small schools) will begin at noon. The top two teams from each division will advance to the six-team Champion of Champions competition at 4 p.m., concluding with the awards ceremony at 5:30 p.m.

On Saturday, approximately 10 middle school teams will compete in a round-robin tournament beginning at 9:30 a.m. and concluding with the awards ceremony at 11:30 a.m.

The overall winners in the middle school and high school divisions will compete in the U.S. Department of Energy’s National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C., April 24-28.

“The National Science Bowl challenges students to excel and heightens their interest in fields vital to America’s continued scientific advancement,” Energy Secretary Ernest Moniz said. "I wish them the best of luck in the competition.”

DOE launched the competition in 1991 to encourage students to excel in science and math and to pursue careers in those fields. 

Teams competing this year in the high school division are:

• Madison High School, Bonneville High School, Rigby High School, Idaho Falls High School, Hillcrest High School, Pocatello High School and Skyline High School in the large-school division.
• South Fremont High School, Ririe High School, American Falls High School and Marsh Valley High School in the medium-school division.
• Rockland High School, Mackay High School, Butte County High School and Challis High School in the small-school division.

Teams competing in the middle school division are:

• Malad Middle School, Teton Middle School, Snake River Junior High, White Pine Charter School, Holy Spirit Catholic, Franklin Middle School, Eagle Rock Junior High, Butte County Middle School and Mackay Middle School

INL is one of the DOE's 10 multiprogram national laboratories. The laboratory performs work in each of the strategic goal areas of DOE: energy, national security, science and environment. INL is the nation's leading center for nuclear energy research and development.

See more INL news and feature stories at or visit us on Facebook at


Printer Friendly
Please note that it is the responsibility of the individual making information available on this website to ensure that any applicable reviews/approvals have been obtained from the originating organization.
Copyright © 2011 Idaho National Laboratory