INL News Release
Feb. 03, 2012

Teri Ehresman, 208-526-7785, 
Misty Benjamin, 208-351-9900,

Nuclear engineer selected for top INL scientific achievement

IDAHO FALLS -- A nuclear engineer with over 25 years of research and development experience has been selected as an Idaho National Laboratory Fellow.

Joy Rempe has joined the elite ranks held by only nine others at the U.S. Department of Energy's Idaho National Laboratory. The designation of Laboratory Fellow is the top scientific achievement designation and recognizes an individual's outstanding contributions to the scientific and engineering community.

Rempe holds a Ph.D. in nuclear engineering from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.  During her 23-year tenure at the laboratory, she has established an international reputation in severe accident analysis, high temperature testing and advanced in-pile instrumentation. She currently leads in-pile instrumentation development for the Advanced Test Reactor's National Scientific User Facility and Fuel Cycle Research and Development programs.

Since 2010, Rempe has been a member of the Advisory Committee for Reactor Safeguards (ACRS) for the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC). In 2005, she was elected as a Fellow of the American Nuclear Society (ANS). She is completing a three-year term on the Board of Directors for the ANS. She has held a variety of offices and been professionally active in ANS, the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).   

As an active mentor to INL staff as well as foreign assignees and graduate-level university students, she often serves on student thesis committees as an adjunct or affiliate university faculty member. Rempe’s own work is documented in 45 peer-reviewed journal articles and over 80 peer-reviewed conference papers. She also has three patents or patents pending relating to her research.

"I appreciate the efforts of those that supported me for this position; in particular, Kemal Pasamehmetoglu, who was until recently my division director, and Debbie Utterbeck, my manager, because of their support and efforts in nominating me for this recognition," said Rempe.

In nominating her for the award, Pasamehmetoglu said she has advanced the sciences of reactor safety analysis, high temperature testing and in-pile instrumentation and her prodigious effort in these key areas of inquiry has significantly contributed to advancing the international stature of the INL as a world-leading nuclear energy laboratory.

The other nine INL Fellows are William Apel, James Delmore, Nam Truc Dinh, J. Stephen Herring, Paul Meakin, Giuseppe Palmiotti, David Petti, Herschel Smartt and Terry Todd.

A candidate for Laboratory Fellow is recommended by the employee's manager to the Fellows Promotion committee, which reviews promotion packages. The packages include data on individual contributions, professional achievements, leadership positions held in technical organizations, letters of recommendation and an evaluation of the person's overall impact. Selection as an INL Laboratory Fellow equates to being named to an endowed chair at a major university, an elite member of a professional society or a member of a national academy.

INL is one of the DOE's 10 multiprogram national laboratories. The laboratory performs work in each of DOE's strategic goal areas: energy, national security, science and environment. INL is the nation's leading center for nuclear energy research and development. Day-to-day management and operation of the laboratory is the responsibility of Battelle Energy Alliance.

Subscribe to RSS feeds for INL news and feature stories at  Follow @INL on Twitter or visit our Facebook page at


Printer Friendly
Please note that it is the responsibility of the individual making information available on this website to ensure that any applicable reviews/approvals have been obtained from the originating organization.
Copyright © 2011 Idaho National Laboratory