INL News Release
Aug. 4, 2010

Kortny Rolston, 208-526-0962,
Misty Benjamin, 208-526-5940,

Center for Advanced Energy Studies awards scholarship money

IDAHO FALLS — The Center for Advanced Energy Studies has awarded $12,000 to 10 university students who interned at CAES and Idaho National Laboratory this summer. Nine students received $1,000 scholarships and one student was given a $3,000 scholarship.

Recipients were selected based on an abstract explaining the work they completed during their internships and an essay describing their career interests and how they plan to contribute to solving the world's energy challenges.

The scholarships were awarded to students majoring in a variety of fields, including computer science, nuclear engineering and writing.

"The technical diversity of the outstanding set of winners highlights their broad set of talents," said Oren Hester, CAES Deputy Director. "Such a talent base will be needed to produce innovative solutions to the energy challenges of today and tomorrow."

This is the third year CAES has awarded scholarships to INL interns. It launched the program to help fulfill its mission of increasing the number of students entering the energy field. Since 2008, CAES has given out $32,000 in scholarships.

Amanda Lang, an engineering physics major at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, won the $3,000 scholarship. As an intern with INL's Advanced Test Reactor National Scientific User Facility, Lang wrote a program that calculates the radiation dose someone would receive from handling samples irradiated in ATR. Lang said she plans to pursue a career in either radiation science or nuclear power.

"Depending on my choice of study, I hope to work in a nuclear power plant and help to improve its efficiency or work in a hospital to treat patients and assist in diagnostics as well as research new ways to treat diseases with nuclear science," she wrote in her CAES scholarship application essay.

This year's $1,000 scholarship winners are:
Ayana Catherine Cleveland, an environmental science major at Washington State University.
Stephanie Cook, a writing major at Brigham Young University-Idaho.
Shadi Ghrayeb, a mechanical and nuclear engineering doctoral student at Pennsylvania State University.
Philip Jagielski, a computer engineering major at Texas A&M University.
Samantha Miller, a chemical engineering major at University of Notre Dame.
Michael Myers, a nuclear engineering major at Texas A&M University.
Marc Paff, a nuclear engineering major at Purdue University.
Dane Sterbentz, a nuclear engineering major at Idaho State University.
Zachary Wuthrich, a mechanical engineering major at University of Idaho.

CAES is a public/private partnership between Idaho National Laboratory and the state of Idaho through its three research universities — Boise State University, Idaho State University and University of Idaho. For more information, visit

INL is one of the DOE's 10 multiprogram national laboratories. The laboratory performs work in each of DOE's strategic goal areas: energy, national security, science and environment. INL is the nation's leading center for nuclear energy research and development. Day-to-day management and operation of the laboratory is the responsibility of Battelle Energy Alliance.

Subscribe to RSS feeds for INL news and feature stories at Follow @INL on Twitter or visit our Facebook page at


Printer Friendly
Please note that it is the responsibility of the individual making information available on this website to ensure that any applicable reviews/approvals have been obtained from the originating organization.
Copyright © 2011 Idaho National Laboratory