INL News Release
April 29, 2008


Jeff Benson, 208-526-3841,

INL announces statewide recipients of grants for K-12 programs

Strengthening science, technology, engineering and math (STEM) education is widely considered to be essential in preparing today's students for tomorrow's work force and in keeping America at the forefront of innovation. In support of the goal to improve STEM education, INL has awarded more than $70,000 in grants to teachers in grades K-12 across Idaho .

The INL Mini Grant program gives teachers up to $2,000 per proposal for classroom equipment, materials and professional development projects. This year, these grants will support 40 innovative STEM projects and programs in public and private schools.

Applications were evaluated by a panel of judges based on specific criteria. Teachers are required to provide information on how learning objectives and curriculum concepts will be enhanced and how the project or program will improve student interest and achievement.

The following is a list of the teachers and schools receiving INL Teacher Mini Grants for 2008:

Ammon: Linda Wintczak, Woodland Hills Elementary School

Boise: Chris Taylor, Liberty Elementary School; Dena Scott, Collister Elementary School; Kelly McLeod, Anser Charter School; Linda Stokes , Collister Elementary School; Martha Matson, Treasure Valley Math & Science; Richard Whittaker, Collister Elementary School; Stuart King, West Junior High School

Caldwell : Donald D Hall, Vision Charter School ; Lucy Kearsley Wafwa, Vision Charter School

Coeur d'Alene : Jeff Rigg, Coeur d'Alene Charter School

Driggs: Richard Fillerup, Teton High School

Eagle: Kellie Taylor , Galileo Math & Science Magnet; Libby Efaw, Galileo Math & Science Magnet

Grace: Susan Kimball, Grace High School

Hamer: Karen L. Johnson, Hamer Elementary School

Hazelton: Sam Franklin, Valley School

Idaho Falls : Dale B. Walker, Bonneville High School ; David Heath, Eagle Rock Junior High School ; Julie Abbott, Rimrock Elementary School ; Ted Simmons, Bonneville High School

Lewiston : Jeremy Feucht, Jenifer Junior High School

Meridian : Kevin Collins, Meridian Medical Arts Charter

Nampa : Amy Claudette Vitek, Nampa Christian School

Patterson: Rachel Aiello, Patterson Elementary School

Pocatello : Christenia Coast , Pocatello Community School

Rexburg: Rylan Ricks, Madison High School ; Travis Phillips, Madison High School

Rigby: Ben Lemons, Jefferson Elementary School; Ben Walters, Midway Middle School; John Berg, Jefferson Elementary School

Ririe: Charles Carris, Ririe High School

Shelley : H. Michael Winston, Hobbs Middle School

Shelley : Vincent Wray, Shelley High School

St. Anthony: Melanie Miller, Central Elementary School; Sheila Nedrow, Central Elementary School; Sherry Bitter, Central Elementary School

Troy : Lorie Flakus, Troy Elementary School

Twin Falls : Royce McCullough, Twin Falls High School

Wendell: Holly Church, Wendell High School

Funding for the INL Mini Grants comes from Battelle Energy Alliance (BEA), which operates INL for the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE). Idaho National Laboratory is dedicated to research and development in support of DOE's mission to discover the solutions to power and secure America' s future.



Printer Friendly
Please note that it is the responsibility of the individual making information available on this website to ensure that any applicable reviews/approvals have been obtained from the originating organization.
Copyright © 2011 Idaho National Laboratory