Home >> Newsroom


DOE Operations Manager, Rick Provencher, and CAES Director Bill Rogers, present INL intern Ellen Roybal with a $3,000 scholarship.

CAES Scholarships

INL intern Brett Stone discusses the work he performed over the summer with Associate Lab Director Dave Hill.

The Center for Advanced Energy Studies awarded $10,000 in scholarships to university students who interned at CAES and INL this summer. Seven students received $1,000 scholarships; one student received a $3,000 award.

Recipients were selected based on the work they completed during their internships and on a brief essay describing their career interests and the energy challenges the nation and world face.

This year's $3,000 scholarship winner is Ellen Roybal, an ecological economics major at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute.

This year's $1,000 scholarship winners are:

  • McKay Graybill, a computer science major at Boise State University
  • Brandi Grover, a general studies major at Idaho State University
  • Sabrina Ireland, a nuclear engineering major at Oregon State University
  • Timothy Kremer, a chemical engineering major at Ohio State University
  • Callan McGriff, a civil engineering major at University of Idaho
  • Jessica Paul, a nuclear engineering major at University of Florida
  • Dane Sterbenz, a nuclear engineering major at Idaho State University.


Department of energy

DOE Office of Nuclear Energy
DOE-Idaho Office